Hot Lemon Drink

Photo: Herb-blog-ogy

I’m a big fan of the “Hot Lemon” drinks available in Japan — available in winter at convenience stores and vending machines.  I was reminded of them recently when I went to a salon and was served a hot drink that reminded me of a simple hot lemonade.  With its cute little mug and the curls of lemon zest at the bottom, I was smitten, and decided when I got home that I had to learn to make it myself.

As we all know, you can’t eat enough mikans to fight off the colds and flus that will assail you in the winter, so one more source of Vitamin C is always welcome.

I tend to think of recipes as guidelines, and the simpler the better, so here’s a rough guideline for how to make your own “hot lemon” drink.

You’ll need:

2 cups of water

1/4 cup lemon juice (I use bottled lemon juice — yuzu or lime juice would be delicious as well.)

1/4 cup unpacked brown sugar (or use white sugar if that’s all you’ve got).

I hesitate to call this a recipe, because it can’t really get any easier:  Boil your water, and then toss in the lemon juice and the brown sugar.  Stir it up and you’re good to go.

Feel free to increase or decrease the lemon/brown sugar to make a recipe all your own that suits your taste buds.  Added bonuses: it’s cheaper than the bottled stuff, it’s healthier, and it’s more environmentally friendly.  You can also serve it in a fancy clear mug with lemon zest at the bottom and pretend you’re at a fancy spa.  Always nice to know an easy way to impress your friends.

Enjoy!

Have you seen our Ginger Tea recipe? It’s great for winter, too!

3 thoughts on “Hot Lemon Drink

  1. In my Kiwi version, I always use juice from real lemons, and no sugar.
    Add some ginger for extra zing and health benefits 🙂

  2. That sounds more similar to the ginger tea drink I have! (But with the portions reversed and honey added to cut the sharpness of the ginger.)

Something on your mind? Leave some comments!

