Recipe: Ginger Tea

When I was in grad school, I caught a horrifying series of colds that lasted from August to December. Around that time, a friend shared a recipe for ginger tea, which he describes as “reputed to raise the dead and fix broken marriages. I don’t know about all that, but I do know that it does WONDERS for a sore throat.” It’s a great for cold prevention and as a cold remedy if you’ve already got one. It’s also delicious. Michiganders among us, this is similar to the Ginger Dragon tea at Espresso Royale.

Ginger Tea
Reproduced with permission of Mike Bierschenk

950 ml water (4 and 3/4 Japanese cups)
50 ml or 1/4 cup honey (adjust to taste) はちみつ hachimitsu
5-7 cm (2-3 inch) knob of ginger, peeled and sliced into thin rounds* しょうが shouga
1 lemon, juiced, or 45 ml of lemon juice (one Japanese brand is ポッカレモン100 Pokka Lemon 100)

A handy visual guide for you!

This is about 9 cm of fresh ginger.

This is about 9 cm of fresh ginger.

Left: Honey (Hachimitsu); right: Lemon juice (Pokka brand "Remon 100")

Left: Honey (Hachimitsu); right: Lemon juice (Pokka brand "Remon 100")

Bring water to a boil. Remove from heat and add ginger, lemon juice, and honey; stir to dissolve. Let steep 1 hour, then strain. Store in the fridge; serve cold or reheat and enjoy.

Interestingly, the ginger I get around here tends to turn the tea pink.

Itadakimasu!
Leah Zoller is a first-year CIR in Anamizu and subsists mainly on ginger.

Notes
*Remove the skin by scraping it off with a spoon under running water or use a vegetable peeler.

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Ginger Tea

  1. I made this tea as soon as I saw it posted on this blog, and it was SOOO good! As for its miraculous healing properties, I can’t attest — but I’m planning to make it again to try to continue to stave off illness.

    I also had no idea that ginger was so cheap…

  2. Ginger root is insanely cheap here, and it’s not so bad in the US, either. (90 yen or less for about 9 cm here; about $1-2 for the same in the US). The honey is more expensive, but I think it’s probably still cheaper than buying the bottled ginger-essence drinks here.

  3. I made this last year when the recipe was first posted, and as I’m sitting here back in the U.S. watching the rain fall out the window, I was inspired to come back to the site and make it again. Yummy! It’s steeping as I type. I can’t wait to drink it again!

Something on your mind? Leave some comments!

